This is the access page for an archive of forum entries. The forum iteslf is no longer available for new content. New social based chat is available on the club Facebook group.

Cyclist Injuries st...

Notifications
Clear all

Cyclist Injuries study

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@ady)
Member Admin
Topic starter  

I've had an email from a student studying injuries in road cyclists, who is after some help with a survey as part of his study.
As I'm sure most of us have an injury (or many!), I think we can assist!

Details below:

Sender email: a.carrod6592@student.leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Dear Mr Japp, My name is Alex Carrod. I am a Physiotherapy MSc student at Leeds Beckett University. I would like to invite members of Weaver Valley Cycling Club to participate in a research project titled: “Current injuries sustained in amateur road cyclists in the United Kingdom: a physiotherapist perspective” The purpose of the study is to contribute a level of knowledge to the field of physiotherapy with regard to injuries sustained in amateur road cyclists. For the purpose of this project, the term “amateur road cyclist” has been defined, as cyclists who do NOT ride professionally or for financial benefit or sponsorship. Leeds Beckett institutional review board has ethically approved this study.

The study involves a short survey containing 3 sections: Demographics (i.e gender, age etc), Cycling training characteristics (i.e. how many miles cycled per week, how many days cycled per week etc) and Injury history (i.e. how many times have you been injured in the last 12 months as a result of cycling etc). The survey will take approximately 5 minutes to complete.

Appropriate cyclists for this study if you are:
1. 18 years old or over.
2. Currently road cycling within the last 12 months.
3. NOT cycling professionally.
4. NOT cycling for financial benefit or sponsorship.