Posts in category Time Trial Results

WVCC Club 10s – Guardian Cup Ro...


After a rainy day, it looks like the few riders that took to the course picked a break in an otherwise wet and windy day. Some times meant big things this evening though, as Dave Fearon romped ahead to clinch the fastest time of the evening, followed by a pre-washed Jim from the Mersey Ferry […]

Emily tries out her new ttoy…

Emily tries out her new ttoy…

A TT report by Emily…. Due to a few other time trials going on at the weekend, there was a very low Weaver Valley contingent in the East Lancs 25 mile TT round the J2/9 on Saturday. The rain was predicted to finish at 2pm, which would have been perfect for the start time; however […]

Otley CC 50 – The No Gaffa Tape...


Many of you will remember Dave Fearon’s epic ride a couple of years ago when he had to Gaffa tape his trainers to his pedals as he forgot his shoes, well this was the same event. As many of you know, I am no stranger to getting up early, but when the alarm went off […]

BDCA 50 – 25th July 2016

BDCA 50 – 25th July 2016

Today was my first ride this Year in a top class field as this event is traditionally the most difficult one to get into because of the fast course on the A50 at Etwall.  True to form all 80 entrants had faster last 3 season times than a 1:54 and nearly as many entries were […]

WVCC Club 10s – Guardian Cup Ro...


The weather has been pretty unpredictable in terms of when the rain is going to come down, so I didn’t expect a large turnout this evening. Clearly, there are many eyes on the Cup this year, as we had a total of 25 (19 club) riders turn up to take their chances. Fortunately, as with […]

WVCC Club (nearly*) 10(s) – 2 u...


It appeared that the slight change in climatic conditions with sporadic heavy showers punctuating the sweltering heat, gave rise to what is sometimes deemed in time trialling terms as a ‘floater'(!) Perhaps perfect conditions for some excellent times. In some respects, it’s a shame that this wasn’t Guardian Cup round 5, as there would have been […]

WVCC Club 10s – Guardian Cup Ro...


A difficult evening to read as the riders turned up to sign on tonight. A bit heavy perhaps, but a cross-tailwind start, and even a bit of a tail-finish. This of course meant that there would be a headwind on the A50. Never good. Nevertheless, 24 riders started, hoping to snatch at least a second […]

Warrington R.C. 50 – 28/05/2016


A quick report on today’s local open TT.  3 WVCC riders started but sadly only 2 finished as Caroline Fearon retired at 34 miles but will be back for more next week. Second quickest in our colours was Alan Shuttleworth riding fixed wheel and he was happy with his time of 2:31:24.  Alistair Stanway was […]

WVCC Club 10s – Guardian Cup Ro...


Well, another change in the weather. Who could have thought? A heavy, damp and drizzly night reduced the willing field to 17 riders this evening. It was going to be a case of gritting your teeth, and just getting on with it, to hope not to lose too much time from your target PB! This was […]

Leigh Premier RC 10 – 22nd May ...

Leigh Premier RC 10 – 22nd May 2016

Today Caroline and Dave Fearon rode their second time trial of the weekend following on from the 25 yesterday.  The event was supposed to be a 25 but road works forced the organiser to reduce it to a 10 using the D10/1 course at Rainford. The weather was much more settled today which was just […]

Stone Wheelers 25 – 21st May 20...

Stone Wheelers 25 – 21st May 2016

Today was the first outing on the rarely used but fast 25 mile course at Blythe Bridge, along the A50 dual carriageway.  The day didn’t look promising with heavy rain forecast all afternoon which usually means a cancellation of the event for safety reasons.  We had an impressive 11 WVCC entries plus Carl Ruebotham who […]

WVCC Club 10s – Guardian Cup Ro...


A slightly more pleasant evening this week as the wind was a little more favourable, with a tailwind start, and a cross wind on the A50, but it’s never easier, you just go faster or push yourself harder! Fast men tonight were those flying into the 23s, with Jacob Booth from Team Bikehaus taking the […]

SPORT: CYCLING: Kemp takes on best of rest at Swynnerton: ALAN Kemp was Weaver Valley Cycling Club’s sole rep...

For those who regularly consult the cafe map on the web site, please note that the latest plugin update seems to have a bug in it that fails to display the cafe indicators on the map. I'm logging a bug report with the author, and hopefully this will be fixed soon. All the cafe details are still available in the list though. ... ’Expand’’Hide’

View on Facebook

TT times. Only a few riders due to the rain and the Mersey ride. ... ’Expand’’Hide’

View on Facebook

Ferry across the Mersey ride. Please note:

Meeting place - Runcorn side of the Sutton Weaver swing bridge (opposite the vets). We will be leaving at 09:00 PROMPT. We will not be waiting.
Please bring money with you for your cafe stop, refreshments on the ferry if required, and your ferry ticket. I might be block booking and paying for this, so please bring fivers, and up to 50 p change. I don't want to be carrying too many coins in my bag for whole day, or need to start trying to find change for £10s and £20s.


... ’Expand’’Hide’

View on Facebook

Upcoming Events

10:00 Delamere MTB ride
Delamere MTB ride
Jul 2 @ 10:00
Delamere MTB ride
The usual Delamere jaunt. 10am at the station cafe for an all-abilities ride around all the tasty bits of the forest.
all-day M&DTTA 100 – Club 100 mile TT Ch...
M&DTTA 100 – Club 100 mile TT Ch...
Jul 3 all-day
M&DTTA 100 – Club 100 mile TT Championship. Although an open event, the time recorded for this event is used to find the 2016 Club 100 mile TT Champion. See: for event details.
18:30 WVCC Club 10 TT – Guardian Cup C...
WVCC Club 10 TT – Guardian Cup C...
Jul 6 @ 18:30 – 21:00
Guardian Cup Counter 7 The Guardian Cup is a season long competition based on a points system. The cup is awarded at the club dinner, and goes to the club member who has the most improved[...]
18:30 WVCC Club 10 TT – Club Championship
WVCC Club 10 TT – Club Championship
Jul 13 @ 18:30 – 21:00
  Club 10 Championship This is the event that determines the winner of the 2016 Club 10 Championship. A single event. If you are the fastest on the night – you win – simple! For[...]

Club meeting times

Sunday runs:

09:30 - Winnington Park Rugby Football Club - see calendar for updated start times (Most runs 10:00 during the winter months)

Tuesday evening (informal - usually a small gathering!)

20:45 - 21:00 onwards - Winnington Park Rugby Football Club

Wednesday runs:

10:00 - Hatchmere

Subscribe! We'll email when a new post appears!

Email Weaver Valley CC

Your message was successfully sent.
Thank You!



Skip to toolbar